On this page you will find details of our Cathedral Clergy, Chapter and Council.


Our Dean

  • The Very Reverend Dr Sue Jones.

Our Residentiary Clergy

  • Canon Philip Anderson
  • Canon Dr Ellen Loudon 
  • Canon Dr Neal Barnes
  • Canon Bob Lewis 
  • Canon Dr Mike Kirby


The responsibility for the good management of the Cathedral rests with the Chapter. The Chapter consists of the senior Cathedral clergy as well as lay members.

Dean's Office

The Very Reverend Dr Sue Jones
Dean of Liverpool

0151 702 7220

Executive Assistant to the Dean

0151 702 7220

Jayne Bainbridge
Contact for all Baptisms, Weddings and Funerals.

0151 702 7204

Residentiary Canons

Canon Dr Philip Anderson
Canon Precentor

Canon Anderson is responsible for the music and liturgy department.


For other music and liturgy, contact details click here

Canon Dr Ellen Loudon
Canon Chancellor

Canon Loudon is working on our Fairness and Wellbeing agenda. Ellen combines this role with that of Director of Social Justice for the Diocese of Liverpool

0151 705 2113

Canon Dr Neal Barnes
Vice Dean and Canon for Mission and Faith Development

Canon Barnes is responsible for helping more visitors encounter God and grow in their faith. He oversees our Zone 2 and SEPAS congregations as well as the Education Team

0151 702 7278

Canon Bob Lewis

Dwelly Raven Canon


Canon Dr Mike Kirby
Canon Scientist – Liverpool Cathedral


Lay Canons

  • Canon Judith Greensmith

  • Canon Linda Jones

  • Canon Margaret Swinson

  • Canon Andrew Holroyd

  • Canon Saro Esmaeili 

   For other Cathedral staff contact details, click here.

Liverpool Cathedral Council

The Cathedral Council is an advisory and monitoring body which is appointed by the Diocesan Bishop. The majority of its members is made up of people not directly associated with the Cathedral but who bring comment and opinion from different perspectives within the diocese.


Mr Peter Bounds
The Cathedral Office
Liverpool Cathedral
L1 7BR

Council members:

  • Canon Myles Davies
  • Mrs Linda Jones
  • Mr Les McKenna
  • Mr David Renison
  • Mr Michael Hilton
  • Mr Anthony Hannay
  • Canon Anthony O’Brien
  • Revd Philip Jump
  • Mrs Val Jackson
  • Dame Lorna Muirhead
  • Mr Zia Chaudhry
  • Ms Margaret Carney
  • Revd Dr Sheryl Anderson
  • Mr Neil Ashbridge